Lonna Whiting

Crafty writer, strategic thinker, curious learner.

Sleepiphanies and Writemares

Last night around two in the morning, I woke up with a gazillion writing ideas funneling through my semi-conscious mind. Creative ideas. The kind that I hadn’t had in a long time. I thought up several blog post topics, fodder for a short story and even a few lines for a new mediocre poem.

Unfortunately, I didn’t write these amazing ideas down, a fatal detail that would leave my well-meaning, practical-minded writing mentors very disappointed.

I didn’t write my ideas down, everyone. Do you know what that means? I fell back asleep, and when I woke up, my Man Booker Prize-winning novel was  like a distant dream. Mere dust in the attic of my mind.

Because a large part of my job requires me to be creative all the time, I don’t always have enough energy left over at the end of the day to work on other projects that are near and dear to my heart. So when – what I call sleepiphanies – hit me in the dead of the night, I intend to jot my ideas down and comb through them when I’m more awake in the morning.

Emphasis on intend to jot down.

There’s something about sleepiphanies that don’t seem to incite enough wakefulness in me to seek out pen and paper. I leave a notepad and a pen on the bedside table for those times when I am awake enough to scribble down my thoughts. Probably a good third of my MFA thesis was written this way, half awake in the darkness of my bedroom. But the real world happened, and along with it the job that slowly started eating up the kind of creative time I carved out for myself during graduate school.

My once-coveted sleepiphanies are beginning to feel more like writemares because I’m just not listening to them. And I’ve had it. So I’ve developed a series of steps that will hopefully encourage me (and you) to not just roll over and go back to sleep, but to listen to those sleepiphanies and write them down in a fully awake state. I’m calling it: The Lonna Whiting Method to Conquering Writemares and Embracing the (Un)Common Sleepiphany.

Here we go.

The Lonna Whiting Method to Conquering Writemares and Embracing the (Un)Common Sleepiphany

NOTE: All exercises must be performed at the moment you are awake enough to think to yourself: “Oooh, that’s a good idea, I should write that down.”

1.  Sit upright in bed and bite tongue. Grab sheet of paper – first thought, best thought. Find Kleenex. Dab bleeding tongue.

2. Roll over onto sleeping partner. Awaken and anger him/her. Use guilt as fuel for wakefulness. Grab pillow to defend self from angry elbows. Locate paper and pen. Write.

3. Roll off bed. Hit floor. Use pain as creative motivation.

And …

4. Sleep one less hour a night. Use time to write more. Understand there’s only so much time. Conquer time to make time. To think, create and write.

Which technique will you try the next time a sleepiphany hits you?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sleepiphanies and Writemares

  1. Brilliant! No, really – that is my exact excuse for not writing my ideas down. “oh I don’t want to disturb partner/cat/dog.” I love the way you’ve captured that in a funny, yet direct way. Oh, and catchy title too….

  2. Thanks Lindalla. I love my sleepiphanies but I like I mentioned, I’m terrible at writing them down. Sleep is so precious!

Leave a Reply

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

owlorbs

Just another WordPress.com site

The Lemon Bar Queen

My Mom's journey with Alzheimer's Disease

Bree Reetz

Bree Reetz is an illustrator and designer.

This Rubescent Life

rubescent: /ruːˈbɛsənt/ adjective (literary) reddening; blushing

Allegra: Joyful, vivacious, and merry

a journey to embrace and personify the meaning behind my name

The Long and Winding Road...

An Alzheimer's Journey and Beyond

Lala Land

A one-sided conversation that you're invited to join

justkeepmovingkatie.wordpress.com/

A blog to keep me motivated + accountable on my weight loss journey.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Crafty writer, strategic thinker, curious learner.

Vegan Before 6 a la Mexicana

Crafty writer, strategic thinker, curious learner.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Woman Doctor's Guide

A guide to good health, women's wellness and getting it all done

brittneyfilm

Don't fear the subtitle!

Annie Was Here

Writer. Digital strategy expert. Reluctant farmer. Lover of golf, basketball, labradors and comedy.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

weaklyshortstories

Just another WordPress.com site

Linda Frances Lein

Author and Writing Coach

